Yep, I blog

“You blog?” the lady asked looking at me incredulously.

“Yep,” I say nonchalantly.

Quite frankly, after three years, I don’t think it’s a big deal anymore. I pick at my salad hoping she’ll change the subject. Her eyes are attempting to bore into my soul so I know I don’t have a chance.

“What do you write about? How do you come up with topics? Where do you get your inspiration?” she says without appearing to breathe.

I put my fork down. The Crab Louis salad I’m dying to eat will have to wait. I knew I’d have to tell her my story.

“I started to write three years ago on a mom site. A good friend encouraged me to discipline myself to write every week for a while. She swore it would be good for me. At first I wasn’t so sure.” I said.

She leaned in closer and put her fork down. I peeked at my salad. It was calling my name, but I knew I’d have to go on.

“The first couple were boring. But, the next week I totally forgot our anniversary. It was a busy week with pictures and dress rehearsal. Recitals are a lot of work. Anyway, my husband had flowers and I had no idea what they were for. That night I wrote the first blog I thought was any good. I called it, ‘OMG, I’m turning into a man.'”

“Go on,” she implored.

“I kept thinking I’d write for a while and then run out of stuff to say. But it hasn’t happened. I’m still here three years later.”

“Cool,” she said. “Very cool. I’m amazed by people that have something to say.”

Later that night, I started to wonder. What do I really write about anyway? I’d been asked three times that week and every time all I could say was “my life.” And, it’s not that exciting.

But, maybe the way I look at my life is.

I no longer think I look at the world like other people. I sit at the computer with a seed of an idea and think I’ll explore my thoughts. Twenty minutes later what I thought I’d write about and what come out are two totally different things. It’s pretty cool.

Where do I get my topics? All around me. I”m never lacking for good material. My life is filled with funny characters and silly stories. And, I’m not afraid to poke fun at myself or tackle a serious issue to help someone else.

Same thing with inspiration. I’m lucky that I don’t get stuck often and that may be because of the way I look at life. I search for a little spark of magic every day. I kick back and try to find a magical moment. I’m truly blessed.

So, yep I blog. And, I will for a long time to come. Thanks to all who read and the friends I’ve made along the way. What started as a weekly way to get creative has helped me to grow exponentially. Thanks for sharing.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a comment