Neiman Marcus at Target? For me it’s a miss

“Oh, Mama” Rosie squealed. “Come look at this dress. It’s beautiful!”

Since we were at Target I didn’t have very high expectations of the frock but I thought “what the hell” and turned to get a look. I expected to see a brightly colored, highly flammable dress with sequins and some kind of large bow. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see a flowing, off-white beaded gown that was not only tasteful but quite beautiful.

Yes. It's beautiful. And, it's Marchesa. At Target. !

Yes. It’s beautiful. And, it’s Marchesa. At Target!

Thinking it might be perfect for a dressy event (we are getting harder to shop for now that we don’t have little girl taste), I went over to check it out. It was quite honestly gorgeous. So, I went to check the price. I was more than a little shocked.

“Rosie, this dress is $99 bucks. Can you believe that?” and I held out the tag so she could see.

“Are you sure you read that right? Maybe it’s $49.99 and you’re just seeing the nines,” she said grabbing the tag.

Her eyes got real wide (I think that’s the true definition of sticker shock). Then she dropped the tag like it burnt her hand and backed away real fast. I had to laugh.

That’s when we started to look around the section. Finally it hit me that this must be one of the designer options for the holidays. I remembered reading that Target was partnering with Nieman Marcus this season.

DISCLAIMER: Before you read any further, please note that I am not a fashion blogger nor do I play one on TV. I know very little about designers and I live in the Midwest so by the time I purchase anything designer, it’s already out of style on both coasts. I’m just a mom who shops at Target. Do not judge. 

Marc Jacobs at Target. Yes, that zip top clutch is $69

Marc Jacobs at Target. Yes, that zip top clutch is $69

I think (and so does the Rosebud) that many of the Neiman Marcus items are a big marketing miss. Think about it. Why do people go to Target? To save money (and it’s a step up in quality from Wal Mart without protesters outside). Here’s an entire collection of gift items that are two to four times as much as the average Target merchandise. In the middle of the country, the displays are full. So I wondered who’s buying?

I REALLY wanted to know who was buying this.

I REALLY wanted to know who was buying this.

Curious (and still unemployed so I had the time) I went online I checked out this Tracy Reese blouse first because in my Target there were no takers- it was on a full rack. Shockingly, it was rated nearly four stars and women were raving about how beautiful it was even though it was ill fitting. However, it did not surprise me that most of the women that purchased were in large cities on either coast.

Rosie and I had a great time checking it all out and for us, the collection is a miss. First on price and second because we wouldn’t be caught dead in many of the items. Especially this hat. Living in big hunting country, I’d be very afraid….

This Skaist Taylor kid's hat looks warm but....

This Skaist Taylor kid’s hat looks warm but….

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Wow, is that a new star wars character? Yeah, I would wear orange with that are you might end up tied down on the hood of a car.

  2. Make that “wear orange with that or you might end up”
    Doesn’t pay typing in on a small screen.

Leave a Reply

