Hey, you? Can you help me find a job?

A few months ago I was laid off from my dream job at an internet start up. The very next morning I applied for the position that I just lost last Thursday at another, more mature internet start-up (Ironically, I turned down a couple of positions in-between because I thought they were too risky. Little did I know). So yes, I have been fired twice in the past four months. Ouch.

I knew I was losing my job that morning as I read the dreaded “we must make cuts” email because I was the last salesperson hired in a market with too many bodies. So, the 15 minute call with HR did not come as a surprise (I even called my hubby three hours before to announce that I was losing my job but I’d be fine). However, the irony of the situation (thank you Alanis Morrisette for writing a song about my life) was not lost on me. Who the hell loses two jobs in less than six months?

Long story short, I am back on the market (before all you people tell me to go into business for myself, I must remind you that I am our benefit package and have no choice but to find a real job, preferably not in a cube farm where I can best use my skill set). And, I know that after working in sales for over 20 years and the fact that it’s December (the best time of the year to find a job) that it’s not going to be easy to find the right fit. I’ve already looked on CareerBuilder and LinkedIn and I’m starting to think I’m doomed.

So what do you do in 2012 to find the perfect position when they are few and far between? You reach out to your network. Luckily, I have a broad one in KC. But, as I’ve learned from the past year, I can work for a company anywhere in the country as long as I have an unlimited data plan and a computer (and I really enjoy working in my jammies). So, I’m reaching out to my virtual network as well.

I am a well connected, amazing salesperson (and I am modest too). I am a hunter and am not afraid to cold call, yet I have the solid relationship and organizational skills needed to maintain a large book of business. I am well versed in social media and marketing and have already been contacted to do some freelance training in that area while I look for a permanent position. I’ve also trained, developed and managed people in two different industries.  You can check out my Linked In profile here. And, here’s a copy of my latest resume.

So friends, I’d like a little help (and hopefully one day, I’ll be able to do the same for you). I’d like to start the new year in a new job. And, I’d love it if you’d pass my info along. You never know where it may lead.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. The company that hires you will thrive…you are a tremendous asset and definitely know how to communicate and get the job done. In a word: Integrity. Good Luck Deb! Let me know if I can be of assistance with my network. Come join me in the wellness arena 🙂

  2. howdoyoufindajob.blogspot.com – very interesting blog to find a job

Trackbacks

  1. […] the daily deal space (and yes, I got laid off from both companies as well but that’s another blog). Daily deals work because clients want results that they can track (unlike those pesky newspaper […]

Leave a Reply

