Giving Thanks (Finally)

At the start of the month, it seemed as if everyone was jumping on the Facebook bandwagon sharing 21 days of thanks. Everyone but me. Not once did I feel compelled to post a thankful status. And, this caused me to pause.

This year, was by far the oddest I’ve had in my entire life. I went from being self-employed, to having my dream job, losing said dream job and sitting on unemployment for two months while all my friends begged me to stop cooking and crafting and go back to work (in my defense I was trying. It just took a long time to get hired). I walked away from a volunteer position that I had put my heart and soul into because the drama was about to kill me. And, I spent $6,200 on COBRA, had three separate insurance policies and still couldn’t get adequate treatment for my asthma resulting in four bursts of Prednisone.

Needless to say, by the time we hit the top of November, I was fat, irritable and to confess a little depressed. I was one month into a new job that I wasn’t quite married to yet, struggling to play tennis and trying to figure out the direction I was heading. And, the only way to move forward was to look back and reevaluate everything in my life and decide what was really important. And, that is what made me grateful.

So, today I give thanks. And, as I do so, I let go of all the bullshit of the past year. Here it is (in no particular order)

  • Thanks to my hubby who has unconditionally loved me for 20 years and put up with the fact that I will always be a big risk taker and while it is scary at times and I don’t always know the destination, I still seem to get where I am going.
  • A big shout out to God for giving me the opportunity to be a mother (and a good one at that). While I don’t always like the tween attitude and I miss the little girl that used to sit in my lap, I am proud that Rosie is turning out to be as lovely inside as out (and I’d like to give another shout out to the big woman for giving the Rosebud the chance to make state choir and get her mind off of not being able to dance. Well played.)
  • Cheers to my crazy parents who gave me the chance to fail over and over so I could roll with the punches as an adult and never be afraid.
  • Kudos to my sister who put up with all my crap as a kid so we could come out the other side and be best friends. What a funny, sunny gal she is.
  • I am glad that I finally got old enough or mature enough to learn how to say “no thank you” and walk away without guilt.
  • I am pleased as punch that I qualified for unemployment so we didn’t have to make a bigger lifestyle adjustment after paying for health insurance. Our house stayed cool in the summer, there was food on the table and while we had to let go of luxuries, we didn’t want for anything.
  • I am blessed to have so many good, supportive friends who cheered me along while I had glue gun in hand. I especially want to thank those that took the time to pick up the phone instead of thinking that they talked to me because we were on social media at the same time.
  • I am grateful for the Plum District opportunity. It gave me the chance to meet some of the most amazing women and make lifelong friends. And, it got me back into an industry that I absolutely adore. I don’t think I would’ve had the chance to join LivingSocial without spending six months in pink.

Here’s the beauty of the past year. There’s not a lot life can throw me that I can’t handle. And, the person I was at the top of the year, isn’t the same one I became as the it progressed. Believe it or not, I actually liked seeing the person I used to be years ago when I had free time. I enjoyed baking and painting and crafting. So that part of this year, I will be taking with me on the next steps on my journey.

So now, I must go bake a pie. Kiss my family and be grateful.  What are you thankful for this year?

 

 

 

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

