Man, I need a job

It’s been three weeks and  three days that I’ve been without a job. I’ve cleaned everything that I want to (Sadly, I have no desire to clean either of our fridges. I keep hoping that they will magically clean themselves before I go back to work). And, I’ve discovered that I do remember how to cook using the oven (not the microwave) with fresh ingredients using a recipe. I’ve even taught Rosie how to make sugar cookies and lasagna so I’m storing up mother of the year points for a time when I have another epic fail.

So I cheated a little and used sauce from a jar….

In less than a month, I’ve cleaned out every closet. Thrown or given away half the contents of the basement. And, I’m starting to eyeball the garage and wonder if a giant tool sale might solve the problem of how we’re going to make our $2,000 COBRA payment (of course, my hubby would probably leave me since he thinks he needs 20 hammers, but that’s another blog).

Since I’m not wired to be a housewife, I am officially stir crazy. Especially since I’ve worked forever and still been able to keep a relatively clean home where everyone has clean clothes and hot food even if it’s frozen. With not a lot of free time, I’ve conditioned myself to use every moment of free time to get all the other jobs done (or in fat times, to pay someone else to help). So, I’m not used to down time. It makes me crazy.

A normal person might look at unemployment as an opportunity to relax, read some great books and catch up on all the soaps. I look at it as a little bit of torture. Especially since I am so close to getting another position and I am already making plans for when that happens. Sick, but I’m making lists of who to call.

So, how to stay busy. I’m making another list. Paint Rosie’s bathroom. Stain the fence. Get the clothes ready for the big consignment sale. Get a job….

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

