Hello unemployment!

It’s been nine months since I won my dream job and in the blink of an eye, it was lost. And, interestingly enough I am fine with the turn-out. In the time that I could’ve had a live child, I gave birth to a brand new market for a company. I hired some incredible women and made lifelong friends. Not too shabby.

I’ve lost jobs before, but I was always a 1099’er and couldn’t file for unemployment. This time, it was different. And, while I don’t plan to stay unemployed long, I do plan to take advantage of a system that I’ve paid into for compensation that I deserve. So today I took on the daunting task of filing.

It used to be that you had to stand in line at an office to file. Now you can do so in the privacy of your own home. Making that an easy option for people like me who really don’t want to admit that they’ve lost a job (even though  it wasn’t my fault and I had lots of good company in the same plight as me.)I  hate the word “fired.” It sucks.

So, thank you to the state of Kansas for making it so easy. Ten minutes at a computer and I’m finished. Now all I have to do is look for a job and file weekly. Maybe not…

 

 

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

