Milestones

I remember when Rosie was little and we’d wait patiently for every milestone to hit and then carefully log them in her baby book. (For those of you that don’t know, we were developmentally delayed with our large motor skills so every little crawl, step and skip was a big deal. And, they were all late so it seemed to take FOREVER.) Time seemed to move slowly for us. But we were patient.

Flash forward nearly 12 years and time seems to move at lightning speed. It seems these days that every new experience that my child has, that she is eternally changed. She matures just the slightest bit. And, the little girl that hid behind my skirt for years, is just a faint memory to me now. There’s a vibrant, over-achieving tween in her place.

This week was a life changing one at the CB home. First, we got our braces (which I must say they’ve made incredible progress since I sat for 4 hours getting mine on in the 80’s but ask any kid, they still suck). It’s interesting to me how putting a little metal on a kid’s teeth can transform them from an older looking little girl to one that can now easily pass for a teenager. In little over an hour, my baby no longer looked like one and since she didn’t sound like herself either (talking with a mouthful of metal is kind of hard at first) all the cuddly, warm little girl images I had of her in my mind were transformed.

Then yesterday Rosie joined the Junior program at the Glenda Brown project for a week at UMKC. She’d dance for a great part of the day and then audit the choreography. However, with only two in the Juniors they decided that they were strong enough to learn the choreography and perform. Me (being the mother of the year) counted on the fact that she’d actually have to watch. So, I didn’t get a sub for tennis (that in itself is a completely different blog on how many colossal mistakes I can make as a mom). Anyhoo, long story short, the child that came home last night, was not the child that left in the morning. Rosie returned over 12 hours later a little more mature and thoughtful and pretty grateful that she’s had such great training.

And while Rosie was having an amazing day, I registered her for Middle School. I got her schedule and locker combo. Picked up her ugly PE shirt and took a look around. This was the place that would bring much joy (and as all of us know that survived early teenage-hood)  many tears. Where she’d make new friends (and frenemies), have her first kiss (then hopefully break HIS heart) and work her way through the tangled mess that’s well- middle school. I have to admit, I was a little sad.

Lots of milestones this week. And I know that as Rosie gets older, they’ll keep coming faster and faster. Please. Slow down for me. Just a smidge.

P.S. Sorry no pics. In a hurry. Will post soon!

 

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

