Doomed frogs and tween-age pet killers

The phone rings, it’s my hubby so I answer.

“Rosie wants frogs,” he said waiting for my response. When he gets nothing but a pregnant pause, he continues.

“So, I’m off to the science store to get them. Just wanted to clear it with you. Make sure it’s okay.”

“UGH! You’re kidding right?” I replied.

Our tween Rosie has had a number of pets. There have been crabs, schools of fish and yes, even frogs. And, she’s managed to kill them all. If it requires a tank and water, it’s toast in our home (oddly enough she’s had success with furry creatures as our rat is still alive and the two dogs are just fine). So, I’m a little dumbfounded on why my hubby would even entertain bringing a small tank with swimming beings into our home.

I’ve learned in fifteen years of marriage and almost twelve years of motherhood that there are battles to fight and times that I just need to walk away. Fighting over tiny frogs is not exactly worth my time. So, I hung up and let it happen.

Two, tiny doomed frogs…

I’ve decided to turn my hubby’s poor judgment into a game just for kicks. So, I’m taking a poll on how long you’ll think they’ll last. Winner gets a $10 Plum District shopping card and bragging rights. Let the games begin.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

