Yep, I’m a mom, I wear pink and I get paid for it too (or why my new career feels like coming home)

A little over ninety days ago I took the leap out of my  male-dominated career back into the world that I left eight years ago. While lots has changed in almost a decade away from the advertising industry, conceptually much is still the same. So, in many ways, this move for me has been a little bit like coming home. It’s like I took a journey to lots of foreign lands searching for a port in the storm and wound up right where I began.

I saw the post for my position quite by accident (which, in truth there are none in this world). I stumbled upon it one night when I was contemplating a career change and not yet married to the idea. But, I saw the post and quite frankly couldn’t believe my eyes. There was a company out there that wanted someone with marketing, blogging and social media experience that had trained, developed and managed in another industry. And, they wanted a well-connected mom. And, to top it off, they were actually willing to pay someone for the experience. Wow.

I immediately called one of my BFF’s and read the job listing to her. Her response knocked me off my feet.

“That’s awesome. You wrote the description for your perfect job. Now all you have to do is go find it,” she said.

I knew I just did.

So, I did what any crazy, right-brained risk-taker would: I cyberstalked the recruiter and convinced her I was perfect for the position. I rallied my friends and got them ready to give glowing recommendations.  I became 100% committed to the idea of leaving my current life and reentering my past a little older, wiser and with a boatload of social media savvy. After six weeks of interviewing, the job was mine and I was ecstatic.

Ninety days later I still am.

As many of my talented, high-energy counterparts throughout the country will tell you- this job is not easy. Taking a concept that’s worked somewhere else and launching it in a new market is sometimes a daunting task. And, while many facets of this have felt comfortable, there’s so much to juggle and learn that each day is new and fresh and challenging (and for those of you that know me, I love one so bring it on).

I’ve learned a lot the past three months- about business and managing people and life. But mostly, I’ve learned a great deal about myself and the world I’ve just jumped back into that I’d like to share.

  • Mothers are amazing. I will take working with a group of high-energy, creative women any day over a bunch of guys in suits. What a pleasure it’s been.
  • The virtual world stuns me. To be able to work for a company across the country and get things done via the internet every day is astounding to me. God bless everyone at the home office who makes my little part of the world run.
  • Vacation is a word that I’m going to have to learn again now that I’m not self-employed. I owe it to myself (especially since I work over 70 hours a week) to take time for me. What a concept.
  • What I really need to get everything accomplished in one day is a wife. Since that’s not going to happen, I got a cleaning service instead which is much better. They don’t care where I’ve been, who I talk to and how much money I spend.
  • The eight to six routine doesn’t work. I find myself getting tons accomplished at odd times and I’ve learned to roll with it. If I get up at six and work for 1 1/2 hours, then I’ve earned the right to take Rosie to school.
  • I have awesome hair. I realized that the week that I did have time to bathe but not time to blow dry my hair. While I won’t tell you which week it was, no one noticed that I hadn’t washed my hair for a couple of days.
  • Girlfriends are priceless. I’ve hired some incredible women and made new friends here in KC and all across the country. So cool to know that I’m am not only supported here at home but that with the click of a mouse I have a posse of Moms  that are there for me as well.
  • Pink is not just for little girls. It’s for big ones too. And, it’s bright, vibrant and proof that as mommies we can do it all.

Yes, I’ve found my way home. Into a career that’s challenging yet, oh so comfortable. Here’s to amazing things that are yet to be!

 

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Deb ~ You are one AWESOME lady! Your knowledge of social media, willingness to share your creativity and relentless pursuit of excellence is inspiring. I am so glad to be in your PD class!

  2. I hope when I grow up I am just like you 🙂 You amaze me and make me strive to be a better mom.
    ❤ you Deb

Leave a Reply

