You are not very Pinteresting

I haven’t written in days. Actually, it seems like months it’s been so long. And, I have so many things that I should’ve written about when they happened because they were timely and relevant and funny and now it’s too late. Oh well.So, I’m left to write about what’s on my mind tonight.

I’ve been working like a dog lately and haven’t had a lot of idle time. So, I thought I’d take a stroll over to the world of thoughtlessness. Where you don’t have to problem solve, cure any major diseases or even have a profound thought.  A world where you let your pleasure center take control and you spend some quality you time (after writing that I now remember why most of my readers are female. The others are secretly bringing out their stash of Girlie mags). Yes, I am talking about Pinterest.

Pinterest is like crack (Confession: I’ve never taken crack but since it’s highly addictive, THIS is what I imagine it to be). Once you enter the world of pinning, you’ll never go back. It’s fun, entertaining and as I found out last week as 1,000 of my closest (HA!) friends re-pinned my Zucchini fries, an over the top high when you see some response.

I do have to confess that at first I didn’t get it. I’m not a scrapbooker. Not sentimental. But once I got on and could start my own boards. Pin my own stuff. I was hooked. And, to confess, I still am.

Until now.

I kept logging on and only saw one persons pins. The first time, I just scrolled down to see what the other couple of hundred people that I follow were doing but I just hit an entire wall of the same person’s pins. I figured it would be different the next time I logged on. Negative. Or the following time. Um, nope.

Now before I go on, I must say that I myself am a “free speech” pinner. While I don’t care about wedding pics, anything pink or cakes, I do respect your right to pin what you like. I just will choose to admire it from afar and move on. But, I am what I like to call an “equal opportunist.” I’d like to see what you like. And others. Just saying.

If you clog up my wall for days on end without giving me a chance to experience something else I will be forced to make a drastic move. The unfollow. After all. You’re not very Pinteresting, are you? Thoughts?

 

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. I agree completely and for whatever reason it does seem to always be the crazy wedding stuff that just takes over, and I just think hey its fab your getting married or dreaming about getting married but I don’t want to see all the ways my wedding could have been better 5 years later because Pinterest and Etsy weren’t there for me.

Leave a Reply

