I’m done with the B.S. Read on. If this is you, contact me!

I’ve blogged for a long time and focused on Motherhood. I’ve written about childbirth, my failure to breastfeed and putting a lock on the outside of my kid’s door at four. I’ve tackled bad teachers, bullying and puberty. But, I’ve never had the chance to write about something that defines me until now- my career.

I’m just starting to dip my toes into the water that may be a little deeper than just being a Mommy. And, in a way I think that’s cool. But there’s still a part of me that’s a little fearful to take the first leap. So, it must be baby steps for a while. But here’s what I can tell you for now.

I’m hiring. This isn’t the first time and it won’t be the last. But it is certainly the most entertaining in my 20+ years of career-dom.  For some reason, my current endeavor seems to attract just about everyone (which is interesting since my last one seemed to repel all) and while I am flattered, I have to continually remind everyone that contacts me that is it WORK (Yes, that is a four letter word to some). Yes, I am hiring independent contractors, but call me crazy, at the end of the day I still have some expectations for the kind of gal it takes to do the job.

This job takes someone that has connections to the community so I ask. And, here’s what I hear, “oh, yes, I am connected.” Really. To whom. Tell me. (I am hearing crickets chirp. Are you?)

It’s essential that the consultants has business contacts, so I inquire. And, I’m told, “I have a ton of them.” So I send each candidate home and tell them to come back to me with a list. Over 80% of them bow out.

It’s  a part-time gig so lots of gals think they can do this and the four other MLM things they have going on successfully. Maybe it’s time to focus on one and rock it. Just saying.

I’m looking for passion. Excitement. A lot of energy. I am looking for enthusiasm. And, unfortunately, it’s hard to find. But do you know what’s even more difficult to discover? A good work ethic. It’s just not there. I am still searching.

Hopefully you saw the title of this blog. If you are REALLY connected and have sales experience,  I have an amazing opportunity for you. Even if you’ve stayed home with kids for a few years and are looking to get back out there. PTA president? Involved in your church or synagogue? Bring it on. I want to meet you.

 

 

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Congrats on your position! Sorry it’s a few days late…would love to chat. Please contact me – info provided below.

  2. Every woman who owns a business is sympathizing with you. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

