Real women don’t wear navy

I’ve blogged for almost four years and I’ve never been able to write about what I do for a living. While I’ve been free from the shackles of compliance B.S. for eleven days, I’m still not ready to write about the eight year odyssey.  First, because I’m a lady and I still believe that if you don’t have anything nice to say you probably shouldn’t.  But to be more honest (as if I have trouble in that department), I have absolutely deplorable things to say which means I probably have a book and in that case, I may have to keep the stories close to the vest until I create a pseudonym (another word for “you don’t know who I am so you can’t sue me for slander”) and tell all.

What I will tell you is I’ve spent the better part of the past decade in a box. In a career where it doesn’t pay to be original and coloring outside the lines is not encouraged. It’s a male-dominated business (and if you don’t have all the appropriate parts they WILL let you know) where the guys dress to the nines to look successful even if they’re not.  So, I felt that I had to play the part (and no, I did not dress like a dude).

When I started I bought suits and button down shirts and I always wore a skirt unless it was below zero. I also submitted to a torture that no woman should: pantyhose (but that’s another blog that you can read here.) I dressed for success every day.

Now, I work for a company run by moms for moms and I don’t have to dress like a stuffed shirt. So, I’m taking a long look at my clothes and trying to figure out what goes (my hubby has tried to talk me out of this adventure as he sees it as possibly expensive endeavor). I’ve come to one conclusion: real women don’t wear navy (and no, I’m not talking about cute nautical duds or something trendy). Stay tuned and you’ll see what I mean.

 

 

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

