Wait for it!

I’m on the phone with a colleague talking about my new job and how we can collaborate moving forward when she says, “Don’t you feel so free?”

I didn’t even pause before I laughed and said, “Yes. It’s amazing.” And, I meant it. The past couple of weeks, I’ve felt forty pounds lighter (and yes, that was how much I gained with Rosie).

After we hung up, it hit me that the taste of freedom that I’ve had the past couple of weeks, is just an appetizer. The main course will come this Wednesday when the door slams shut forever on my current career and opens into my new one (which really isn’t new, it really is my old one from before this one. Did you follow that?). And, I’m DYING for it to get here.

I’m not a very patient person. As a kid, I was the one that snooped incessantly before the holiday and wrecked all the surprises. And, as an adult, I’m even worse. If you ask my kid, she’ll tell you I rock as a mom because I give her almost all of her presents before the holidays as I can’t keep a darn secret (for the record, I do the same thing with my hubby as well). It’s a terrible quality to have but it can be positive. I’m quite popular around the holidays.

However, this year, not so much. I was desperate to find the perfect job (which I do have to say may have been the only time in my life I’ve ever been patient as I wasn’t willing to sell a copier or sell my soul to the devil and stay in my current industry). Sometime around Thanksgiving I saw an ad and knew I found my dream job and I also knew I’d do anything that was legal, moral and ethical to get said job. It was mine.

So I did. I cyberstalked a recruiter (okay, I confess I tracked her down via phone as well). I went to a half dozen women in my network and begged for their help and recommendations. I put together solid materials for my interviews and then I did what every great salesperson should- I sold myself. Over and over. And, after six weeks, it worked. The job was mine. Almost four weeks later, I’d start.

And, now it’s here (And, I can’t FREAKING wait and I just got the email with my new company email and I almost fell off my chair with joy)! I get to go to San Francisco to train this week and then I’ll come back and get started (and because I’m not patient I’ve already kind of cheated and started setting appointments for when I get back). I am absolutely filled with glee!

So stay tuned people! I’ve never had the chance to write about what I do for a living (and I probably have some pithy yet scathing things to say about the industry I’m leaving and quite possibly a book) and I look forward to the chance. I also can’t wait to say whatever the hell I want. But most of all, I can’t wait to do something that gives me passion and makes me smile all the the time. Worth waiting for, huh?

 

 

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Wishing you the very best of success in your dream job! Can’t wait to hear more, but until then, enjoy S.F. Oh, how I miss my city by the bay!

  2. You are my hero, for all the obvious reasons! You are a fabulous writer, who knew?
    Can’t wait to hear where you landed.

Leave a Reply

