It’s a present! Maybe or maybe not…

In the mail was a large manila envelope. It sparked my interest as we never get anything good in the mail anymore- just bills. This looked exciting. Especially since it felt like there was a present inside. I flipped it over to see who it was from and was shocked when I saw who it was from. Immediately I screamed for my dad.

“Dad! Get down here! There’s a package from our vet!” And then I started to sweat.

“What is it,” he said as he opened the envelope.

Inside was a square something or other that felt kinda cushy and was wrapped in animal print fabric and tied with a bow. Since we had just put Rosie’s rat to sleep, I had an instant idea what was inside the wrap. And, I didn’t feel good about it at all.

“Do you think it’s Remmie?” I asked my Dad.

“Oh, My GOD!” he said as he felt the “present.”

I thought back to that day and was quite certain that as I was sobbing behind my very Jackie-O glasses that I specifically told the vet we DID NOT want Remmie’s cremains back. I began to wonder if they ignored my request. I felt kind-of sick and a little horrified.

Tentatively, I opened the package. Inside, carefully protected by bubble wrap (which gave it the ash-like feel through the fabric) was an ornament with Remmie’s paw prints. They had taken the time to press one of his tiny hands and feet into the clay.

What a lovely momento. (And what a loser I am.)

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

