Going, Going, Gone!

Today I have my first ever Guest Blogger, my eleven year-old daughter Rosie. 

When you lose someone, you don’t lose them but what’s inside them-the hope, the grief and even the sorrow. The connection is lost, never there again. The hope of them coming back is forgotten, lost somewhere in time and space.

I lost my pet rat Remmie. He was more than a pet. He was a part of the family and even more-my friend. He was someone you could talk to and listen. Well sort of, he was a rat.

The day we put down the fur ball, the friend and the family member it was not easy. It never is and never will be.

That morning was great full of hope that he would come home from the vet healthy and happy. But that afternoon my mom picked me up from school I realized that every moment is to treasure and to hold onto. Once you lose someone they’re lost. Gone for good. But that doesn’t mean you lost them in your heart and soul.

I never thought that half a second was so important. Not in math, science, social studies, reading or even writing but in life it is. Sometimes it is life threatening like for Remmie with no coming back or 2nd chances. He’s gone forever. And I didn’t ever say goodbye. But the last thing I said was never give up hope when it seems impossible.

 

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Rosie, good job. I’m sorry for your loss. But proud of the young lady you are becoming.

  2. awww so sorry!! You’ve got some good thoughts though, I’m proud of you! I doubt that you know that I lost my dad (Katrina’s grandpa) last fall. We didn’t get to say goodbye either. But we do treasure the time we spent with him and we know he’s in a good place. HUGS – Miss Elaine

  3. Such a lovely post about loss by one so young. I’m sorry for your loss, and I understand it completely. We’ve had many furry family members, including some beloved rats. May your memories of Remmie bring you comfort.

  4. Christina A. says:

    Sweet, sweet girl, I know the pain you must be feeling right now. Take solace in knowing that your darling Remmie is no longer squeaking in pain, and that you gave him more love and more happiness than most rats ever have the chance to know. For some, he may have been “just” a rat. But you knew him as so much more. Thank you for choosing to share your thoughts and your sorrow with us all. I hope that at some point in the future, when the sting of loss is not so present, you share your thoughts with us again.

Leave a Reply

