Call me names all you want. I can’t hear you!

They are staring at me. Giving me the evil eye every time I walk by. I’ve tried to ignore them, walk faster and of course, look away but they constantly taunt me.

“What a loser!” they say to each other. “She’s so embarrassed, she can’t even look at us.”

And, in a way they are right.

I do have a little egg on my face. And, they’re right to call me on it. I just wish they wouldn’t be so harsh.

“Procrastinator!” I heard one shout when I was in the kitchen.

“Slacker!” yelled another as I tried to run out the front door.

They’re becoming mean little bastards and I think I know why. They’re feeling neglected and a little worried. Especially since I’m choosing to ignore them and pretend they don’t exist (I’m actually getting pretty good at putting my hands over my ears and doing that loud “La, la, la” thing as I walk by and act like I can’ t hear them.)

I wonder how long I’ll be able to keep it up. I know they think I’ll cave, but now it’s like a game for me. A challenge.

Go ahead. Keep calling me names. I can’t hear you.

Mean little things. Should I break down and send them?
About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Absolutely, you should send them. The recipients will actually have the time to savor and enjoy them. They won’t get lost in the crowd of other cards. 🙂

Leave a Reply

