It’s time to play our music…

The first Muppet Movie came out in 1979. I was eleven. I don’t recall seeing it in the theater but I do remember Kermit, Miss Piggy, Fozzie and the old guys in the balcony. 

When Rosie was little, I bought a VHS version of the Muppet Christmas Carol. Every year, I’ve popped it in and she’s yawned when she’s seen the puppets (or are they marionettes?) She’s never even shown a little bit of interest.

Until this year.

Rosie is eleven (OH, the irony.) And there is a brand new Muppet movie and guess what? She couldn’t care less. But I’ve been DYING to see what the Disney folks could do. I am a big believer that they will do Jim Henson right (and since he died on my birthday years ago, I will hold them to it) and they did.

SPOILER ALERT! (Yes, I’ve been known to ruin lots of movies. But at least I warn you first. If you can’t continue on watch this. It will have made the read worthwhile.)

I dragged my child to the movie. She wanted to see some Christmas fluff and I tempted her like the kid finder guy in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. I put some candy in her bag and told her to come along. It worked.

The good news is we were both mesmerized from the moment it started. Me with the cute guy from How I Met Your Mother, she with the gorgeous gal from Enchanted. Still, I could tell she wasn’t sold on the whole thing, even when Kermit entered the picture.

Kermit goes to find his friends to join him and save the theater. I sat in amazement at how the writers could take 80’s humor (yes, I’m old) and make it relevant for the kids of the new Millennium. And, they did.

The adults laughed at the old stuff. The kids guffawed at the new bits and a good time was had by all. It was an amazing movie.

The entire two hours, I was completely overwhelmed. First, I was the same exact age as Rosie when I saw (and loved ) the Muppets. Second, she was sitting in the theater with me totally engrossed. We were both cracking up. And, it was SO COOL!

We both adored the movie. And, what a pleasure it was for me to remember being eleven again (without a lot of the drama). We made a Rainbow Connection  Rosie and me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Huge Kermit fan, here! I love that he so accepting of his “green-ness.” LOL! My kids knew from the minute the previews came out I would be dragging their teen bums to the theater with me to see the movie. Wise girls didn’t argue with me.

Leave a Reply

