Knit one, Pearl two

Rosie wants to learn how to knit. I warned her at the craft store that I don’t know how or have time to learn. She didn’t think it would be a problem. So, I bought a couple books, some knitting needles, a couple skeins of yarn and she was off.

Until she got frustrated.

It wasn’t easy to understand the book. So, she did what any techno-savvy kid would do: she went to You Tube. And lo and behold, there are hundreds of knitting videos on there that she could understand and follow. So she started to make a scarf.

But it still wasn’t simple.

As luck would have it, my hubby came home from work at the very moment that the frustration level was hitting it’s peak.

“Knitting,” he said. “Believe it or not. I know how. Or used to know how.”

So I told the Rosebud. And she grabbed her daddy and said, “I hear you know how to knit. Teach me.”

Apparently, it’s been 35 years since my hubby has attempted to knit a thing (and I still haven’t gotten to the bottom of exactly why he learned in the first place). He’s more than a little rusty. But he’s a heck of a good sport.

They’ve been sitting on the floor for a while. Two peas in a pod with their knitting needles. Neither of them really know what they are doing but they’re doing just fine. Talk about quality bonding time.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

