What’s your name? Who’s your Daddy?

Rosie wanted a puppy. I found this out by accident one day when we went to a local pet store that sells cute little mutts at a premium. Staring at the cages, her eyes got big as saucers. I knew I was doomed.

So I devised a plan. I wouldn’t purchase a pet. We would have to adopt and rescue one. I said it knowing that there are very few hypo-allergenic breeds that come up for adoption. I thought I was safe.

Then one day a face that looks like this popped up on my Facebook feed (minus the adorable redhead).

How could I resist?

Instantly I knew that this was our dog (I remember screaming for my Dad to come see. He had no idea that I was even contemplating such a thing. Neither did I.) So I called and put our name in at an animal shelter 45 minutes away.

It was a long wait (especially with a dog-crazy eleven year-old asking, “Is he ours yet?” over and over) but at the end of the week the pooch belonged to us, complete with a raging set of fleas. But he was so cute. Who can resist?

Instantly, we were new pet owners (when you adopt you don’t get a lot of time to decide when there’s others waiting). We brought the mangy, underweight guy home, gave him a bath and introduced him to his 15 year-old big brother Macallan. It went well and so has the whole week.

But yet we wonder.

We know our new little guy was loved and that he must have been someone’s pet. We also know he probably ran off as every time a door opens he bolts. But by his behavior (which my dog training buddy says we have to wait a full two weeks to see what he’s really like), we know that someone cared about him enough to train him. So, why didn’t they come find him?

The shelter didn’t have a name for him (it may have been Sam as he answered to that for a couple of days) so we dubbed him Barclay. And, we think he’s taking to his new moniker. We’re sure smitten with him (Stay tuned. More adventures to come).

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. rebecca corbin says:

    what a lovely story i was just about that age when my mother let me have my first pet…and form that day on i have loved many…some stayed and some went to other homes,but all were loved…keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

