Hell hath no fury like a mother who’s child’s been scorned!

It’s been a month since I blogged. In debcb terms, that’s a helluva long time. It’s not that I haven’t had things to write about, I just haven’t had time. Or made time. At least I’ll be honest.

I’ve thought about it often. Especially last week when my mom called and asked “when’s there going to be a new blog?” I shrugged my shoulders, mumbled that I didn’t have time and thought about writing. Doesn’t that count?

So, I’m sure you’re dying to know what brings me here today. What witty words I’d like to share or motherly mistakes I’m about to admit. For those of you that know me well, you may even be thinking, “who pissed me off?”

Well, someone did.

And, unfortunately, I can’t tell you who. But, this person obviously doesn’t know me well (and isn’t smart enough to ask around to get intell). So, I might as well give them a little super top-secret advice: If you jack with my kid, you better be prepared for a little bit of a fight.

I’m not a helicopter parent. I’m more than happy to have my Rosie make her own mistakes. If she’s screwed up, she needs to pay the piper. But, if she hasn’t, then I think it’s outrageous that she be accused of something that she did not do.

Yes, life is unfair (a conversation that Rosie and I have often now that puberty’s begun) but it shouldn’t be a complete bummer. And, there’s no reason why my child should be crying uncontrollably (until her heart is broken, but hopefully that’s not going to happen soon). So, I am NOT happy.

The good news for the person that pissed me off, is that I’m going to handle my displeasure as I’d handle any other unpleasant business situation. My temper will be under control and I will be very matter-of-fact. If that doesn’t work, I may be forced to be passive aggressive, but I’m going to try to avoid using overt anger unless absolutely necessary. So, right now they’re lucky.

And, as long as we resolve this issue in a peaceful manner, then it will go away. If not, I may go postal. Warning: Hell hath no fury like a mother who’s child’s been scorned!

(I can just see a someone whispering in her ear tomorrow, “Well, you DO know she writes a blog, don’t you? Wish I could be a fly on that wall.)

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

