Yep, I’ve officially become my Mother. Ugh.

I have officially become my mother.

UMPH! It’s like a sucker punch to the gut just saying that. Painful.

Before I begin, let’s get a few things straight. 1) I love my mother 2) I am really, honestly nothing like my mother (as long as you don’t count the snarky sense of humor) and 3) I don’t really think my mother reads my blogs since I’m no longer on a major metropolitan newspaper site so…

Anyhoo, as I was saying. I’ve just turned into my mother. And, while I can’t believe I’d reach such a low, it was quite eye-opening to be lumped into the same category with my mom. That “you just embarrassed me, now go away while I shrivel up and die” category. Unfortunately, I’m not quite sure how I got there.

My mom (who hated to be called Mother) got there with years of practice. She must have started when I was a toddler because I can’t actually remember a cringe-free moment. When you look on the bright side, with her wit and free abandon she helped to raise two fiercely independent, clever girls. Yet, we learned how to cower when she’d let a zinger fly (or just looked for a good deal).

I’ve spent the past eleven years trying to be the complete opposite of my mother (and apparently I haven’t had much success). I’ve tempered my tongue on at least a thousand occasions. I’ve tried to only constructively criticize as I want Rosie to have high self-esteem. And, I’ve even learned to laugh without showing a single facial expression or making any noise so my child has no clue that I might possibly be chuckling at her.

None of this has worked.

It’s clear that we’ve arrived at soon-to-be eleven- the age of embarrassment. And, that there’s nothing I can do to stop (it or me). I’m now shaming my child even when I’m careful about what I’m saying and to whom. And, it happens on a daily basis (and she doesn’t even read what I write. God forbid she goes back later to read it all and…. I just can’t even go there).

Yep, I have officially turned into my mother. And, now that I’ve hit my child’s eye-rolling, sassy back-talking phase, I think I’m starting to look at my mom in a different light. Maybe she wasn’t so bad after all. Maybe she didn’t REALLY try to embarrass me.

Oh hell, who am I kidding? Sometimes she still does. (I love you Mom!)

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

