Start your own shower (but please still need me…)!

“Hey Mama, I need to shower!” my soon-to-be eleven year-old shouts from the stairs.

“O.K.” I shout back knowing what’s coming next. “Want me to start the water?”

Before she can answer, I’m halfway there and I can’t help but wonder when she’ll finally be old enough to start the hot water herself. I get to the bathroom door and hear a familiar noise. It’s the water running and Rosie’s singing at the top of her lungs. Pleasantly surprised, I venture off to find her a towel.

In my almost eleven years of Mommyhood, I’ve run thousands of baths and showers. I’ve heard hundreds of screams for a towel after the water’s turned off. And, I can’t count how many times I’ve yelled at my child to “dry off in the bathroom!” instead of creating small puddles all over the place as she treks towards her room (I’ve also slipped a lot on the aforementioned puddles causing my temper to flare).

While I don’t want my child to grow up too fast, I’ve been secretly hoping that someday I’d get a break and she’d become a little bit more independent. I don’t think it’s that difficult to figure out how to set the shower to the right temperature and hop on in. But, so far it hasn’t happened. Until today.

After announcing the need to be clean (of which I’ll never complain as I remember the stringy hair of one of my little sister’s friends at this age) she went right on in and turned the water on. Then she jumped on in and started to sing one of her favorite songs from dance. I had to smile and dash off to get a towel before she bellowed for help or trailed water throughout the house.

I turned the knob to toss in the towel and nothing happened. So, I tried it again. That’s when it hit me. She locked the door.

I stood outside the door a little bit shocked and frustrated. While I wanted her to grow up a little bit and I’d love to stop waiting on her, it’s the first time she didn’t need me. And, to top it off, she locked me out. Needless to say I was more than a little hurt as I dejectedly walked back downstairs.

I pouted a bit as I cleaned the kitchen. I tried to busy myself and not think about the fact that Rosie didn’t need me (or want me if the lock was any indication). I had to remind myself that this is what I was wishing for and I needed to get over it. That’s when I heard the water stop.

I listened to the silence for a moment and was pleasantly surprised to hear my child yell.

“Mama! HELP! I forgot a towel!” Rosie shrieked in panic.

“Just a sec!” I yelled back.

I ran up the stairs and retrieved the towel that I sat right outside the door and then I knocked. The lock made a loud POP and the door swung open just long enough to see a long, thin arm emerge to grab the towel. And, then it shut again.

I walked away singing to myself. I was still needed and it felt good. Now, if I could just figure out how to break that darn lock.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Debbie….I loved this one! Felt familiar!

Leave a Reply

