Yep, I’d make a terrible lawyer

I almost went to law school. Twice. The first time was straight out of college. I took the LSAT, got a good score and was ready to apply when I discovered that my right brain was calling me back to Journalism school (I also took the GRE and GMAT. If it was a standardized test, I was going to conquer it). So, I got a masters degree in advertising instead.

The second time I felt the desire to take up law as a profession was in grad school. For some unknown (and I must admit quite warped reason), two of my favorite classes were Journalism Law and Ethics (yes, the latter may be an oxymoron). I loved the critical thinking, case studies and was fascinated by the ability of the court system to employ rational, deductive thinking strategies at all times. I seriously considered law school then, but I was tired of being poor and eating processed food out of boxes, so I passed.

I’ve often wondered what like would be like if I had pursued that path. If high school debate was any indicator, I was perfectly suited for the career. I could effectively present either side of an argument and I had the ability to be objective the majority of the time. I also had (and still do, my friends laugh at me) lots of theories about why people are inclined to behave the way they do. That’s the right brained side of me and sometimes you have to be creative. Especially when you’re a defense attorney.

However, after watching the Casey Anthony trial, I’m thoroughly convinced that I’d make a lousy lawyer. While I’m outraged at the jury’s decision, I do believe that they came to the right conclusion without any concrete evidence. The logical part of me understands that’s how our system works and for every person that may go free, it protects others that are innocent from conviction. Yet, as a mother, I’m conflicted.

I think Casey Anthony’s behavior is reprehensible. What mother parties and lies for 31 days knowing her child is dead? Then lies to police for over three years? I think she’s despicable and the emotional side of me is just disgusted that this woman was not convicted of anything relating to her daughter’s disappearance. And, that’s why I’d be terrible lawyer.

There’s no way I could defend someone like Casey Anthony. I couldn’t put all the doubt and disgust out of my mind. I actually think I’d be physically ill listening to all her lies and trying to come up with a way to get her off. I’d have trouble sleeping and even looking at myself in the mirror. I wouldn’t be able to do my job.

So, I think I made the right choice in life when I passed on law school. It’s too bad it took me 20 years to figure that out. But the bigger shame, is that it’s not a crime to conceal the death of your child. And, that being a terrible mother isn’t either.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

