Why are men so “tough” when they’re sick?

My hubby is sick. I’ve seen it coming for a couple of weeks. Started out as allergies with the sniffling, sneezing, snorting thing and then progressed to a mild upper-respiratory something-or-other.

Last night he was up all night coughing and hacking. He kept doing that thing you do when you continuously try to clear your throat when there’s nothing there. He was miserable.

This morning I gently reminded him that it may not be allergies when I announced, “You’re sick.” Period. Then I urged him to go to the walk-on clinic at the doctor (which is a concierge practice in the first place. If he calls, they get him in). And, since I knew I did my wifely duties, I left him alone.

Guess what he’s not doing? Going to the doctor. Why you may ask? Because he’s a man.

If a woman felt like he did, she’d high-tail it to the doctor so fast you’d smell the rubber as her tires peeled out of the driveway. She’d take the prescribed medicine and even follow all the doctor’s directions. Why? Because she HAS to. Women don’t have time to be sick.

We have to work, drive carpools and run charity events. There’s always an emergency or something to bake or a skinned knee that needs to be loved. We don’t have time to let illness get us down. We have to run the world.

Men, however, try so hard to be strong and tough that they wait until their bodies have completely broken down before they even confess that they may be sick. By then, it’s too late. They are close to death’s door (or at least they think they are) and then they crawl into bed for a day or so and act like babies. Having a sick man around is like having another child.

So, I see what’s coming. My hubby will continue to suffer until he can breathe no more. This weekend will be filled with tissues, phlegm and a hacking cough. I hope by then he’ll break down and hit the urgent care. Until then, I hope he enjoys his stay in our lovely extra bedroom. I’m busy running the world and need my rest.

Ladies, how tough are your husbands?

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Oh so true! They are all alike!

Leave a Reply

