Bye-bye Build-A-Bear

Between my three email accounts, I get a lot of spam. So much so that a couple of years ago, I created a completely new email and diverted all my correspondence to the new account. I kept the old one though and still use it when I’m asked for an email at a store.

Today I logged on and there were 438 emails calling my name. And, I didn’t have time to weed through them to find the one email I needed. Frustrated, I decided to go ahead an unsubscribe to a number of lists that I’ve been on for a while. There was no reason to have to continuously hit delete every time I logged on. But it was a little more difficult than I thought.

My daughter Rosie will be eleven at the end of the summer. My email was filled with her childhood and all the things we’ve outgrown. It was the first time it’s hit me that she truly is a tween and we’re closer to her leaving our home then when she came into the world.

Some of the decisions to unsubscribe were easy. We could no longer fit into clothes at Gymboree so it was time to say goodbye (reluctantly I might add. Such cute, well-made clothes). Soon to follow were Crazy 8 and The Children’s Place. I got rid of anything having to do with early childhood, reading lists and craft newsletters. I also trashed Barbie and fairies. We were over them.

In an hours time, I had erased all evidence in my email account of my child’s early life. Every time I hit the unsubscribe button, I felt a little bit of sorrow. Even though it was time to clean up the account, there was one store that still remained that I needed to delete.

Build-a-bear was the hottest ticket in town when we were three and stayed so until last year. Even though we still peer into the window, Rosie’s given away many of her bears and is getting ready to say goodbye. So, I decided it was time for me to as well. I hit unsubscribe.

Bye-bye Build-A Bear. It’s time for us to move on. And, actually, I’m excited to see what our next decade brings.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. My younger daughter (now 14) was obsessed with Build-a-Bear in elem school too; in fact, at that age she used to say that when she grew up she wanted to work at B.A.B. Every time she said that, my older daughter, MUCH wiser with 3 years more life experience, scolded her by saying “At least say you’re going to OWN the store, not just work there!”

Leave a Reply

