OMG! I’m turning into a man!

We’ve all had “Mommy brain.” You know the syndrome where you can’t remember anything once you have kids. Well, now I’m convinced that I have taken it one step further. I think I’m turning into a Man! In my defense, I have to say that last week was CRAZY! I didn’t know if I was coming or going between work and the dreaded recital week marathon. But I didn’t expect to completely lose my mind.

Friday after the rehearsal I walk in our home expecting to have something for dinner (I wrote it on the schedule and even called my hubby to remind him we’d be home after 8 and he needed to make some grub or at least bring some home from work) and there’s nothing! (To make it worse, he and my Dad were sitting outside relaxing and having a cocktail!!)

While I’m ranting and raving and looking frantically into the freezer for something fast, my husband says “Hey, I brought you flowers!” Thinking he’s just trying to get my mind off of the fact that I could gnaw my arm off in starvation, I look over and see the most beautiful lilies and roses in the middle of the kitchen table. Then it hits me! HOLEY MOLEY! It’s our anniversary tomorrow! With all the recital hoo-ha I completely forgot! Only men forget things like that. Not SuperMoms like me!

It gets worse. Saturday morning I get up early to run to Target for “bobby pins”. (We don’t really need any but it sounded recital-ish enough that I could sneak out and go get a card.) As I’m racing out the door, my hubby informs me that he has to “rush to the restaurant” and I only have 15 minutes. I race out the door, drive as fast as I can without getting arrested and get rock-star parking at Target. I race to the entrance, step up to the automatic door and the darn thing won’t open. I try the old fashioned way and it’s locked as well. “SINCE WHEN DOES TARGET NOT OPEN UNTIL EIGHT?” I scream in agony!

I make an executive decision that Starbucks will have to be the best I can do (confirming once again that I am becoming a man. Look at that logic.) Plus, I promised Rosie a cocoa and some scones before the dreaded ten o’clock recital show so I’ll kill two birds with one stone. I order her yummies and then get my hubby a Vanilla non-fat latte (At the time I did not see the irony that if my husband gave me a non-fat latte my first response would be, “Do you think I’m fat or something?”)

Somehow, when I presented him with the lame drink and said “Happy Anniversary” it did not have the impact I intended. As a matter of fact, I think he probably tossed the drink when he got to work. Some anniversary, huh?

In honor of another dance recital weekend, I had to share this oldie but goodie. First published on mom2momkc.com on 06/23/2008.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

