What Royal Wedding?

This is the hat I would have worn to the Royal Wedding (if I was interested or invited)


I have to admit, that I just wasn’t into the Royal Wedding. Sitting in the United States with extraordinarily high gas and food prices, the devastation of recent tornadoes and the devaluation of the dollar, I felt it almost shameful to be engrossed in an event that would cost (on the low side) hundreds of thousands of dollars (actually, the estimated loss of productivity is estimated by the NY Times at over a billion dollars). So, I thought I’d pass.

And, for months I did. I’d skip the sections of my People Magazine that gave week-after-week of conjecture. What would Kate wear? Who would the lucky designer be? Would she wear her hair down?

I just didn’t care.

But as the day grew close, I discovered that despite my indifference, my ten-year old Rosie, wanted to know all about the Royal Wedding. And, she had a burning desire to watch. So, the night before, I caved and taped over six hours of coverage for her. Yet, still, I wondered what the attraction was?

I was just a few years older than Rosie when Princess Diana walked down the aisle at Westminster Abbey. I don’t remember watching the ceremony, but let’s face it- I probably did. (Imagine if there was internet and all the viral media we had today? I wouldn’t have left my room for days.)

I do remember watching Diana’s life from across the pond. She had beautiful children and lived a fairly sheltered existence, until she was cuckolded by the Prince and did something that is never written into any fairy tale-she asked for a divorce.

That’s the Diana that became interesting to me. The world watched as Diana became a major force in fashion and philanthropy. She found her voice and a number of worthy causes, posthumously winning a Nobel Peace Prize. And, she died too early and tragically.

I used to chuckle listening to my parent’s generation talk about where they were when JFK was shot. However, I got it when Diana died. Because I remember exactly where I was, what I was doing and who I was with. And, I sat for hours riveted to the television and all the media coverage and investigation afterword.

Diana was the royal phenomenon of my generation. She was the princess to watch, admire and dream that you could be. Kate, who is now the Duchess of Cambridge, will be the royal to watch for Rosie’s era. And, it’s clear that she’s more than just a pretty face.

So, today, I will watch the coverage with my tween and look at the wedding through her eyes. She still dreams of being a princess. What a magical moment to watch a commoner become one.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

