Tax evasion? No, just avoidance

I actually plan to mail this sucker tomorrow

I am a chronic tax avoider (which should not be confused with the fine art of tax evasion which is illegal and highly punishable by fine and imprisonment). I blow off filing my taxes every year. It’s gotten so serious that my CPA doesn’t even bother to call me, he just files an extension. (Yes, I’m that predictable).

I HATE to pull everything together for taxes. I have all the receipts and keep good records, but it takes time at the end of the year to get it into a form that is CPA-deliverable so I usually put it off until the last minute.

Tax time for me the past few years has been October. The saddest part about the whole mess is that we were getting a return. Yes, I really am that lazy.

A couple of years ago, I tried to turn over a new leaf. I went paperless and wrote a blog swearing that I’d be better. Alas, it was never to be. We filed in the fall that year too.

But this year is different.

About a month ago, I called my CPA and told him we were filing on time. (I’m not really sure he believed me, but he’s a kind man and kept his mouth shut). It wasn’t my great organization skills that guided my decision to become a responsible tax payer. It was the knowledge that we owed money this year and if we didn’t file on time it could be considered tax evasion. Not wanting to pay the government more than my fair share (or see the inside of a cell), I thought it best to hit the deadline. And, I did, with a couple of days to spare.

Tomorrow, I will hold my head high as I mail my checks. I may even brag about myself at the post office (like anyone will care). I’m actually hitting the April deadline and I’m pretty stinking proud of myself.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

