No, I don’t need a coat. I’m wearing your problems!

It's a hot coat. Especially when it's 80 degrees.

Lately, I’ve noticed a new phenomenon (or maybe not so new, I’m just more cognizant). People are telling me everything-the good, bad and ugly. And, some of it, I just don’t want to know.

DISCLAIMER: If you are a good friend of mine, this blog and any of the complaints, gripes and commentary that accompany it, do not apply to you.

This past month has been a wild ride for me. It’s been stressful and filled with drama, but I really haven’t shared my problems with the masses. It’s a private affair that needs to be dealt with and then it needs to go away. Life needs to go on.

As I’ve been dealing with my issues, I’ve noticed that there have been a plethora of people that feel compelled to share with me. I have found myself in ordinary places with people I don’t know well telling me intimate details about their private lives. And, some of it has been quite shocking (it actually has made me question the laws of attraction. I’ve been quiet about myself, but have I sent the “I have problems come commiserate with me vibe out there?” Hmmmm…….)

I’ve heard stories of potential childhood abuse and one woman’s tale of a terrible divorce. I’ve listened attentively to a number of women who need some guidance and possibly treatment for depression. And, I’ve been asked my opinion on a number of topics that I’m blessed to know nothing about first-hand. It’s been bizarre.

I’ve always been one that’s easy to talk with and I’ve had people over the years suggest that I need to be life coach. Now that I’ve had my own personal taste, I can tell you without a shadow of a doubt that I’m not cut out for that profession. I can’t take it.

I feel as if I’m wearing everyone’s problems. And, it’s a parka on a warm sunny day. I’m sweaty, hot and crabby and need to take it off. So, I am. I can’t listen anymore.

The past month has been humbling, as I’ve listened to the pain and devastation of others. It’s made me feel lucky that my problems are really quite small and solvable (and that I’m able to reach inside myself and find the answers). I truly am a fortunate person.

So, I’m getting rid of the coat that’s been weighing me down and moving on. I’m getting back to the basics, putting my energy in the right place and I’m going focus on the positive and upbeat. That’s what I’d really like to attract this month.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. I’ve had that experience! There’s a lady at the post office who just will not shut up when I come in. She doesn’t know me, but I know a lot about here, like the fact that she has terrible hot flashes at night, so bad she sweats like a man. Ewwww…

  2. Ooop… meant “her.”

Leave a Reply

