Go ahead. Jack me around…

My good friend the ice pack. Usually, the only one I need when I play tennis.

I’m at a Saturday tennis drill when the pro says, “Hey, we’re going to do wide ground strokes everyone. And, I’m going to jack you around…all over the place.”

Under normal circumstances, I would’ve kept my mouth shut and kept my crazy thoughts to myself. But because I’m on a social media sabbatical and my creativity is more than a little stifled, I let the first thought that entered my mind escape.

“Really?” I said. “You’ll be the first man to be honest with me about that.”

And, then I kicked back and let time pass uber-slowly while I waited for someone to give me that “you didn’t say that in mixed company look.” My mind raced as I thought back to the past week and all the free time I had since I left the cyber world. The first week had its ups and downs.

The high note of the week was cleaning out my closet and drawers; a daunting task that never gets done due to lack of time. A couple of free hours allowed me to get completely organized. And, get rid of a lot of clothes that I don’t wear and need a better home.

However, all this organization had a downside. I came to the realization that I’ve officially hit middle-age. Going through my underwear drawer, I discovered that I have two distinct panty seasons- low rise and brief. Ugh, I’m getting old.

Also on the high side- cleaning the carpet, patching up the dents in the hallway wall and planting flowers. It was reinvigorating to have time to get caught up on all my honey-do’s. And, cool to see the finished results.

On the downside- having to watch friend requests pile up (O.K. I confess, I snuck on and excepted a couple) and the knowledge that my Linkedin profile is hidden (I’m quite sure I’ll miss a big opportunity). And, feeling so out of the loop.

So here I am nine days in. I’m on the tennis court when the pro says, “I’m going to jack you around…all over the place.”

To which I reply: “Really? You’ll be the first man to be honest with me about that.”

Instantly the entire group roared with laughter. The pro laughed so hard he was leaning over the net and looked like he might fall on the court. It took him a while to get composed. I turned scarlet and more than a little apologetic.

“Sorry guys, I’m on a Facebook break and I haven’t been able to get out any of my zingers. Guess I just needed an outlet.”

The guy next to me laughs and says, “Be sure to friend me when you get back up.” He laughs and runs to the baseline.

The guy next to him taps me with his racket and says, “Geez, I bet your friends miss you.”

I hope so, because I miss my friends too. What have you been up to lately?

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Christina says:

    OMG, Deb…too funny! You are missed on FB for sure! As for me…I have a houseguest(my mom), my kiddo has had twenty gazillion doc’s appointments in the last few days, my spring break was filled with corsages and cleaning, I’ve managed to annoy the one cat in my house that I am convinced will kill me in my sleep, our fish had babies, and I finally managed to watch the original Tron. I’ve also been busy exploring nature, surprising a snake, and writing term papers like my life depends on it, because, let’s face it, it kind of does.

    BTW…congrats on your series 7! I knew you would “Ace” it! 😉

Leave a Reply

