Oh Facebook. How I miss Thee….


I am on a Facebook break. It’s not by choice and I can’t tell you why. If I do, then I’d have to kill you. I will tell you this though, being off Facebook may just kill me.

I never thought I’d be one of those people. You know the type- get up in the morning and check on what my friends are doing before the first cup of coffee. But, I do have to confess, that once I got into Facebook, I was hooked.

I liked reconnecting with old friends and seeing them all grown up with successful careers and families of their own. I loved staying on top of a vast network of people and feeling like I was in the loop. But the thing I miss the most is status updates. I adore posting one liners about my crazy life that I find amusing (and I know others do too, because they tell me).

Today would have been a great one. Rosie wore a fake cast to school for April Fools and she planned to tell the entire class at the end of the day. She emerged from school with the “cast” still on. It was signed by all the girls in her class and and when I asked her if she told anyone it was a joke she said, “Oh, mama. I stayed in character all day.” Just like drama class, she was playing a role.

How my friends would have loved that. It’s sweet and funny and adorable. Some would’ve commented that the lessons are paying off. Others, just hit the like button. But, alas, they will never know.

Yep, I miss Facebook. But to tell you the truth, I may appreciate it even more when I come off my break. And, yes, I will be back. Hopefully sooner than later…

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. Deb, we miss you on Facebook but will comment here to make sure you know you aren’t alone! 😉

  2. Miss you on Facebook and LOVE the April Fools Joke!!

Leave a Reply

