Yeah, My Body’s Hot

Lots of little needles, but boy do they help!


“When’s the last time you wrote?” my chiropractor asks as she pokes acupuncture needles in me.

“Hmm, it’s been a while,” I say and I think back to the last time I sat at the computer and poured out my soul.

“Well, you need to. You’re body’s hot,” she says and we move on to another topic.

I haven’t been called hot since my twenties so I ponder taking her statement as a compliment for a minute. But, that’s not what she meant. Something’s going on with my body and it needs to be fixed. Isn’t that why I’m there in the first place?

It started with a sore lower back, then a pain in my neck. A couple of weeks ago, I thought I blew out my calf on the tennis court and it keeps haunting me. I’m also kind of crabby, I’ve had headaches and I’m just not quite right.

Could all of this be from not writing? Have all my thoughts manifested themselves into aches and pains in my body? I was beginning to wonder.

I haven’t written in six weeks. That’s the longest I’ve gone in over three years. Without The Star deadline looming over me every week (which I once thought was a curse), I’ve allowed myself to place everything else in life ahead of the cathartic act of storytelling.

Since I no longer HAVE to write, I’ve let myself think that it’s no longer important. Work, spending time with my family and everything else have become more of a priority. What I’ve failed to see is that I don’t need a deadline (or an affiliation with a newspaper) to write.

And, I think that’s what my body’s trying to tell me.

All of the pent up stories, thoughts and emotions have manifested themselves into small ailments, that combined are causing my body to break down. I’ve been carrying work in my shoulders. Frustration has manifested itself in my lower back. And, my calf (my chiropractor and I looked that up in a book) is the fear of change.

So, I’m back. And, I plan to write more frequently then I did when I posted on the mommy blog. I have more things to say.

I’m hoping this will help to put my middle-aged body back together. No more acupuncture discussions about the temperature of my body. However, for the record, even though I don’t hear it, I still think I’m hot.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. I’m in the same boat as far as not writing regularly. I guess that deadline wasn’t such a bad thing after all….Can’t wait to read more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

