A Blizzard? Not Real. Snow Day? No Big Deal

“When I was a kid, we never had snow days. I’d stand on the corner and wait for the bus in drifts as tall as you. And, you know what, the buses always ran; didn’t matter how much snow there was. They could always make it.”

I’ve told this story to Rosie at least a hundred times (I’ve counted the eye rolls so I know that’s accurate). And, she’s never believed me. To her, it sounds like one of those “I walked backwards, both ways, uphill” stories from the olden days. But, it’s the God’s honest truth.

I grew up in Peoria, Illinois and went to school in the infamous District 150. Every year we’d have lots of snow and we’d wish for every child’s dream come true- a snow day.

After each storm, we’d watch the news in nervous anticipation. We’d pray that this would finally be THE storm to have our day to play. Alas, it was never to be. While school was shut in every district around us, 150 trudged on. I swore our Superintendant was a scrooge.

I grew up and moved south to a land that has snow every year, but not like the storms of my youth. Usually, we get a couple of feet spread throughout the season; mild compared to what I experienced growing up. But, guess what? EVERY time it snows we have a snow day.

We wake in the morning with three inches and the entire town is closed. The night before, there’s a run on all the stores for bread and milk. People actually cancel appointments and children make play dates the day before. It’s amazing. No wonder my child doesn’t believe my stories.

I’ve told her of the one year that we got lucky and actually had snow days (the only ones I recall in my twelve years of school). I was Rosie’s age when the Blizzard of ’79 hit dumping over 16 inches of snow in one day. It shut down everything in town; including school.

But, once again, she’d roll her eyes. I can see the thoughts swimming through her head: “There’s no such thing as a blizzard. It must be a made-up concept, since we only have little storms and mommy and daddy aren’t afraid of the snow.”

This week, we had snow in the forecast. Yesterday, it was upgraded to a blizzard warning. When I told Rosie she made plans to play (further proving that she thinks a blizzard is a made-up concept by her middle-aged mommy that doesn’t know what she’s talking about).

To further affect my credibility, we awoke this morning to a light dusting of snow (causing me to laugh that they’d already cancelled school the night before). We were able to drive around town, go to the store and it honestly didn’t look like much. Both of us surmised that the meteorologists were wrong. Then it kicked in.

It began to snow harder. The snow swirled wildly as the wind blew. The windshield wipers froze as we drove. It was about to get nasty.

The Blizzard of Oz was about to begin (I myself had fondly called it Snowtorious B.I.G.). And, I was about to prove that the snows of my childhood did exist. And, that there is such a thing as a blizzard.

It’s been going on all day and we’re finally at least a foot of snow into it and the entire town’s shut down. My child could care less. She doesn’t want to go out and play because she doesn’t feel well and it’s too cold and there’s too much snow.

Plus, it’s not a big deal. It’s not like the big blizzard is delivering the much awaited snow days of her youth; they miss school for a couple of inches all the time.

About debcb

All Deb wanted to do was work, until she had Rosie. For the past decade, she's juggled a full-time career, high-profile volunteer work and mommyhood.

Comments

  1. I remember the Blizzard of ’79! And yes, District 150 is STILL the last to close. We got the call this morning around 5 am. But I think in this day and age with more parents working, they are more concerned with kids standing at a snow-covered bus stop all alone. At least I am. Oh, and the possibility that some parents may not make it to pick their kids up at the end of the day, thus meaning that teachers would be stuck staying with said kids for even longer than they’d like.

    Honestly? They could have had a half day and still counted it as a whole. It didn’t start snowing here until after noon (AS PREDICTED). Now it looks like we’ll go a few extra days in June – at least – because of course, District 150 doesn’t factor in snow days to the schedule, because they rarely use them!

  2. I grew up in rural Wisconsin. Even though there were days the buses could not get through to those of us who lived out on farms, my school almost never closed. I can probably count on one hand the number of snow days we had – officially – being one of those that lived on a very rural road, there were a few times we just couldn’t get to school. I think this afternoon, even my high school would’ve closed early. Of course, now they close all the time.

  3. Gwyn Hunley says:

    Nearly 60 and this is probably the 4th blizzard in my life (wherever I was living). Told our 25 yr old to look out the window and “remember”. Ice storms are worse!!! and scare the hell out of me. Blizzards – as long as power is there – are just cold and nasty. Can understand why Rosie sees them as nothing. She’s safe & secure with both of you. This! is a good thing.
    Have enjoyed your blogs!

Leave a Reply

